Coverart for item
The Resource Salt to the sea : a novel, Ruta Sepetys

Salt to the sea : a novel, Ruta Sepetys

Label
Salt to the sea : a novel
Title
Salt to the sea
Title remainder
a novel
Statement of responsibility
Ruta Sepetys
Creator
Author
Subject
Genre
Language
eng
Summary
  • "As World War II draws to a close, refugees try to escape the war's final dangers, only to find themselves aboard a ship with a target on its hull"--
  • World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, many with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer to safety. Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people--adults and children alike--aboard must fight for the same thing: survival. Told in alternating points of view and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr's Pulitzer Prize-winning All the Light We Cannot See, Erik Larson's Dead Wake, and Elizabeth Wein's Printz Honor Book Code Name Verity, this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of the Wilhelm Gustloff--the greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in Between Shades of Gray, Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war, and proves that humanity and love can prevail, even in the darkest of hours. -- Provided by publisher
Summary
Titanic. Lusitania. Wilhelm Gustloff. All major maritime disasters, yet the last is virtually unknown. Ruta Sepetys changes that in her gripping historical novel. Told in short snippets, Salt to the Sea rotates between four narrators attempting to escape various tragedies in 1945 Europe. Powerful and haunting, heartbreaking and hopeful–a must read. -- Jennifer Asimakopoulos for LibraryReads
Theme
Storyline
Tone
Writing style
Character
Award
  • Carnegie Medal, 2017.
  • California Young Reader Medal, Young Adult, 2018.
  • Golden Kite Award for Fiction, 2017
  • Goodreads Choice Award, 2016
  • Indies' Choice Book Awards, Young Adult, 2017.
  • LibraryReads Favorites, 2016
  • Notable Books for a Global Society, 2017
  • School Library Journal Best Books, 2016
  • YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults, 2017.
  • Grand Canyon Reader Award (Arizona), Teen Book Category, 2018.
  • Virginia Readers' Choice Award for High School, 2018.
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Awards note
  • YALSA Top Ten Best Fiction for Young Adults, 2017
  • CILIP Carnegie Medal Winner, 2017.
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/bookUI
10464544
Cataloging source
DLC
Dewey number
[Fic]
Illustrations
maps
Index
no index present
Interest level
UG
LC call number
PZ7.S47957
LC item number
Sal 2016
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/lexile
560
Literary form
fiction
http://library.link/vocab/ext/novelist/minGradeLevel
  • 8
  • 12
Nature of contents
bibliography
Reading level
  • 4.5
  • 4.5.
http://library.link/vocab/resourcePreferred
True
Study program name
  • Accelerated Reader AR
  • Accelerated Reader
Target audience
adolescent
Label
Salt to the sea : a novel, Ruta Sepetys
Link
Instantiates
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 384-389)
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
5772886
Dimensions
22 cm
Extent
391 pages
Isbn
9780399160301
Lccn
2015009057
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
maps
System control number
(OCoLC)908250409
Label
Salt to the sea : a novel, Ruta Sepetys
Link
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 384-389)
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
5772886
Dimensions
22 cm
Extent
391 pages
Isbn
9780399160301
Lccn
2015009057
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
n
Other physical details
maps
System control number
(OCoLC)908250409

Subject

Genre

Included in

Library Locations

    • Broxton Public LibraryBorrow it
      105 Church Street, Broxton, GA, 31519-6070, US
      31.605801 -82.881798
    • Douglas-Coffee County LibraryBorrow it
      200 South Madison Avenue Suite D, Douglas, GA, 31533-5340, US
      31.508495 -82.849449
    • Pearson Public LibraryBorrow it
      56 East Bullard Avenue, Pearson, GA, 31642-7835, US
      31.298893 -82.851357

Library Links

Processing Feedback ...